Are Doritos Halal or Haram? | Doritos in USA

doritos-halal-haram

Doritos are not halal because all Doritos flavors contain animal enzymes. They also use ethanol as a carrying agent in small numbers. Some Doritos contain MSG (monosodium glutamate). The source of MSG is pork and other animals that have not been slaughtered halal.

Also, Doritos are not certified as halal so there is more research required.

We have collected this information from PepsiCo (the owner of the Doritos brand).

Our Research on Doritos Halal or Haram

We were receiving this question from a lot of people are Doritos halal or haram? Are Doritos halal in USA, UK, and Canada? So, we sent an email with this question to PepsiCo. Our question was:

Hi PepsiCo Team!

We wanted to know if your Doritos Chips are halal or haram. If not halal, please share the reason or ingredient that makes it haram.

Looking forward to listen from you.

Thank you!

Regards: Team Wellguider

Below is the PepsiCo response to our query:

Hi,

Thank you for contacting us.

All our Doritos flavors have animal enzymes except  Doritos Bold BBQ and Doritos Sweet Chili Heat.

Our non-seasoned, salted-only snacks, such as Lay’s Classic, Ruffles Original, Fritos, Tostitos, Original SunChips, and Rold Gold Pretzels, do not have enzymes of any kind.

PepsiCo Consumer Relations Representative

If you are interested in halal ways of earning from home, must read this valuable information on Halal Passive Income Ideas.

Opinion by Allama Mufti Anwar

We also asked Allama Mufti Anwar about this topic to take a fatwa and he respond us:

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

All praise and thanks are due to Allah, and peace and blessings are upon His Messenger.

Dear brothers and sisters in faith,

It is a well-known fact that Allah Almighty has prohibited us from consuming foods that are harmful or unhealthy. In this regard, we have a clear commandment in the Noble Qur’an: “O you who have believed, eat from the good things which We have provided for you and be grateful to Allah if it is [indeed] Him that you worship” (Al-Baqarah: 172). 

Therefore, based on the above verse of the Noble Qur’an, it is clear that any food item that is considered to be unhealthy or harmful must be avoided. 

Having said that, it is important to note that Doritos are not Halal. Doritos contain animal enzymes, artificial colors, and other preservatives. 

In light of the above, it is our considered opinion that Doritos are Haram and should be avoided.

We pray to Allah Almighty to guide us all to the straight path and keep us away from all that is forbidden and unhealthy. 

And Allah knows best. 

May Allah Almighty shower His mercy and blessings upon us all. 

Ameen.

Allama Mufti Anwar

For your hair care, we have reviewed 10 best Halal Hair Vitamins / Hair Gummies. These halal-certified gummies are best for any man or woman.

Why are Animal Enzymes Ingredients not Considered Halal?

Enzymes derived from Haram (not allowed) animals, not slaughtered in a halal way or from raw materials obtained from Haram sources are considered to be Haram.

Animal enzymes are a type of Calf Rennet that is very popular in food. An enzyme called rennet is used in the food industry to curdle milk for the preparation of cheese. The rennet is obtained from the stomach of a calf.

If the rennet is taken from an animal that has been slaughtered according to Shari`ah, then it is pure and can be eaten. If the rennet is taken from an animal that dies naturally, or that was not slaughtered in accordance with Shari`ah, it is impure and should not be eaten. Source: illamqa.info

So, if nothing impure has been added to it, it will be Halal.

1. It May Not be Slaughtered in Halal Way

The rennet may be obtained from an animal that may not be slaughtered in a halal way then it is not halal in any way. Consuming permitted parts of only halal animals and slaughtering in a halal way is halal for Muslims. So, you don’t know that these were collected in a halal way.

We will suggest you read a detailed guide on Halal and Haram Jobs in Islam.

2. Doritos Rennet May Obtained from Pigs

As rennet could be obtained from pigs or other cattle. Therefore, all of you know that pork products and any product containing any remains of pigs are considered haram. If there is mention of the animal enzyme, stay away from that product as it may not be halal for Muslims.

3. Doritos Enzymes as Ingredients:

Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips, COOL RANCH® Flavored Tortilla Chips, 3D Crunch Corn Snacks, and FLAMAS® Flavored Tortilla Chips contain: Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes)

Ingredients

You can also check all kinds of Doritos ingredients on the official site.

What kind of Doritos are Halal?

We think that you will be looking for an alternative to Doritos to enjoy and we have researched some halal alternative chips that you can consume. These chips don’t contain animal enzymes or any other haram flavor.

However, we will suggest you check the ingredients of these chips before you consume them.

Doritos Bold BBQ Tortilla Chips

Check on eBay: https://www.ebay.com/itm/165343851805

Check on Walmart: https://www.walmart.ca/en/ip/Doritos-Bold-BBQ-Flavoured-Tortilla-Chips/6000202808448

Doritos Sweet Chili Heat Tortilla Chips

https://www.doritos.com/products/doritos-spicy-sweet-chili-flavored-tortilla-chips

Doritos Halal Alternatives

Here are some excellent alternatives to Doritos for Muslims. You can use these chips without any hesitation because it don’t contain any haram ingredients.

Lay’s Classic Potato Chips

Ruffles Potato Chips

Fritos Original Corn Chips

SunChips Multigrain Snacks

Rold Gold Tiny Twists Pretzels

Final Thoughts

Regardless of PepsiCo’s spokesperson’s response, some people still refuse to eat Doritos due to the lack of a halal certification label. If that’s the case for you, there are many other products available that do not contain animal enzymes (rennet).

This information is primarily focusing on the US, UK, and Canadian markets. But other Muslim countries have other rules about serving halal-certified products. Ultimately, it is up to you to decide if Doritos are appropriate for you to eat. Be sure to do your research and make an informed decision.

Read also: Halal Passive Income Ideas for Muslims

Relevant Questions

Can Muslims Eat Doritos?

Yes, Muslims can eat Doritos that do not contain animal enzymes.

Is Doritos halal in USA?

Only Doritos Bold BBQ and Doritos Sweet Chili Heat are halal to consume for Muslims. PepsiCo Foods Representative says: All our Doritos flavors, have animal enzymes except  Doritos Bold BBQ and Doritos Sweet Chili Heat.

Are Doritos halal in UK?

Yes, only Doritos Bold BBQ and Doritos Sweet Chili Heat are halal to consume for Muslims.

Is Hot Doritos Haram?

Yes, because, all our Doritos flavors have animal enzymes except Doritos Bold BBQ and Doritos Sweet Chili Heat.

Are Nacho Doritos halal?

Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips are haram due to the cheeses in the seasoning being made from animal enzymes.

Are Doritos Made With Pork?

Most Doritos are made of animal enzymes, especially pork.

Is there Alcohol in Doritos?

No, Doritos does not contain any alcohol. 

Are Green Doritos halal

Yes, they do not contain any haram ingredients.

Are Red Doritos Halal

No, because it contains animal Enzymes that are not certified halal.

Are Orange Doritos Halal

No, because it contains animal Enzymes that are not certified halal.

Are Blue Doritos Halal

No, because it contains animal Enzymes that are not certified halal.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *